Tips for First-time home buyers

Tips for First-time home buyers

Hello W+H community! My husband and I are first-time home buyers and after some negotiations, we settled on an accepted offer with the sellers just yesterday (Sunday, 4/23). One potentially odd part of the deal is that they asked us to close as soon as possible - by June 7 even! Seems very soon to me, but our realtor said it could work. We're currently trying to schedule the home inspection. And then we still need to apply for the mortgage (we do have a pre-qualification letter from our bank).

Curious what anyone's thoughts are on having a closing date a mere 6.5 weeks from settling on a sale's price. Is that enough time to get all the paperwork through? And any advice re: the home inspection? We are complete novices! Thank you!

12 REPLIES 12

Re: Tips for First-time home buyers

@nicbli Congratulations on your first home purchase, Nikki!  Having just sold a house and purchased a new one, I totally know what you're going through.  It's stressful, it's hectic, it's crazy!  We closed within 30 days because we sold our house and had to get out to let the new people in.  I don't really have any great tips other than to bite the bullet and get it done!  You just have to focus on each task at hand - you and your husband need to divide and conquer.  Get the paperwork in order, call an inspector that has good reviews or get a friend's recommendation...and start purging yourselves of anything you don't want to bring to the new house with you.  There is so much to do, and you just have to keep your eyes on the prize.  It's not going to be easy, and there are no real shortcuts.  JUST DO IT.  Good luck, enjoy the journey, and celebrate each completed task.